… a tiny glimpse

20130719-174941.jpg

My God, look at this.

Seriously?!

Every moment with these girls blows my mind…….. How they think (Ari wants some of my sister, Alyssas’s, lunch. She asks, “Do you like to share??”) really. Again, I’m not around 4 yo’s often but how she thinks blows my mind. How she asks what anything she doesn’t understand means. Anyone want to tell her what ‘peeled’ means? Lol. And, she sings Mumford & Sons, Hillsong United, & Kim Walker-Smith’s ‘Spirit Breakout’.

Her older sister is as sweet as she could ever be. I love our drives and how she rides in the front seat with me talking about God, going over our day, and hearing her compassion, thoughts, and perspectives on things. She tries so hard to be a great big sister and she’s excellent at it. So patient and playing all the “pretend” games that are asked of her.

It’s amazing to witness.

I believe that our homes are the first place children learn about God. They’re the first place children are taught to trust, how to communicate, interact with others, build relationships, and problem solve.

The home is the first “mission field”.

The first place we’re taught to see others as more important than ourselves, we learn how to forgive and forget, how to make a mistake and learn from it. We learn how to be Christians in our home FIRST.

God commanded us to be fruitful and multiply, to make disciples. Our marriage counselor says to “raise little Jesus'”!!!!

What if we all raised little compassionate, kind, patient, and forgiving children who will leave their homes and head to preschool, elementary/middle/high school, or college ready to be that same person to the world. These children will grow up to have broad perspectives about the world, God’s people, & their their places in the world. They will be taught that they can do all things through Christ and how to be strong and courageous in The Lord.

How amazing could these children of ours be when they be when they believe that their worth in the body of Christ is huge & they can shake up this world for God just a little bit of faith?

Could we learn to (wisely) trust other member’s of The Body and choose to share our struggles with each other the way God intended?

How much more impactful could believers be? Could our churches’ become? And, how many more souls could be saved and lives renewed?

20130719-191827.jpgTHAT is what I think about everyday. This is what I think of when I’m looking to God for everything I need to be patient, kind, merciful, and forgiving moment by moment.

I know that my actions are important. That my actions are bigger than me, the moment, and my feelings.

It’s about Christ.
How I relate to whoever I’m blessed to entertain or host in our home, speaks volumes about my God and who I am in Him. Who I believe Him to be.

It’s about the most amazing and perfect example of love, grace, mercy, and forgiveness and how we strive to become like him daily.

How we help each other to get there.

It’s about being “little Jesus'” in our home so we’re comfortable and confident enough to show Him to the world.

…. here’s to focusing on our roles and depending on the only man who is able to help us to become more like Him.

*** swoon ***
How love this tiny glimpse of what it is like to raise little people who love Christ to their core.

About Alaina

Wife. Daughter. Sister. Aunt. Friend. feel free to walk beside me. support. encourage. comment. pray. bestow wisdom. advise. follow. subscribe.
This entry was posted in adoption, aha!, faith, family, fertility, husbands, infertility, marriage, nieces, scripture, summer, the plan, what I love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

