… he’s 31!

20130718-174803.jpg

A big HAPPY BIRTHDAY goes out to my hubs! That man turned thirty-one yesterday and it seems as if time has just been flying for us…. And, he’s looking every bit of

Of course my temperamental computer isn’t cooperating so the official birthday pictures will have to be posted a bit later but I snagged a few on my phone! Of course!

20130718-174919.jpg
{the girls and I made a sign for him to be surprised by when he walked out of the room on the morning of this birthday!!}

Words cannot express how proud I am of this guy. Everyday that passes he surprises me more and more with how humble and thoughtful he’s becoming as every day passes. He’s so gifted in so many different areas. I love how he’s using his gifts for ministry and the building of God’s kingdom. And, he does so willingly, selflessly, and tirelessly.

I cannot wait to see what God does with and through him during this year of change, transition, and difficulty. I can’t wait to see who he becomes…. it’s so exciting to have a front row seat to the good God is doing in him.

20130718-175058.jpg

He handles every single one of our challenges with grace, patience, love, and understanding. To the point where I don’t always know that it’s difficult for him. Our journey through infertility hasn’t been easy on him, mainly because it hasn’t been so easy on me. Through all of my tears and darkness and struggle, he was right there pushing me towards God, praying for me, and believing for me when I couldn’t or wouldn’t do it for myself. And, now with the adoption…. all of my ideas, the billion requirements for us, all of the paperwork that needed to be done, the failed adoptions, agency switch…. it’s been a lot. And, he’s been amazing through it all. THAT I appreciate more than words can express.
He is truly Christ in our home…. he works hard to be what I need him to be, at exactly the right times.

Can’t beat that with a stick.

20130718-175139.jpg

I always say that he’s the hugest trooper and supporter of my ideas…. He just stands so quietly behind me supporting me as I work, giving me help when I need it and when I don’t realize I need it. Helping me stick to budget, and keeping me on track when my mind is elsewhere.
So, I desperately appreciate him for agreeing to a new tradition I started with us this year on his birthday…… prayers and plans.
For each of our birthdays (and our kids when we have them), we will each write a prayer for the birthday girl/boy and they will be given a blank sheet of white paper to dream for the next year. I’ll keep them in one binder, safely tucked in page protectors divided by year.

I want to catalog prayers and answers. I want each family member to know that on their special day they have family behind them who are praying for their growth, their dreams, maturity, character, future, education, etc. Yes, we pray daily but how fun is it to receive prayers just for you from your family?

I know this sounds like possibly the corniest tradition ever but the Holy Spirit pushed me and you know how I feel about responding to God’s suggestions. lol.

I look forward to celebrating every single one of his birthdays with him for the rest of our life together. He certainly makes getting older fun. 🙂

… here’s to many birthdays spent dreaming and planning while patiently living out God’s plan for us! I’m excited!!!!!!

About Alaina

Wife. Daughter. Sister. Aunt. Friend. feel free to walk beside me. support. encourage. comment. pray. bestow wisdom. advise. follow. subscribe.
This entry was posted in birthdays, faith, fertility, growth, hope, husbands, infertility, marriage, serve, summer, the plan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

