… progress

I just realized that it’s 8:05p. Which wouldn’t typically be a big deal but this is literally the night of the LAST holiday of the school year. We have two and a half  more school days a work day left.

I am beyond overjoyed.

And, as I said a few posts ago…. I’ve thought up an end of the year gift for my students about an hour or so ago. Which is exciting. I think it will be uber cute and the best part about it is that there is no paint or anything else that would qualify “arts/crafts” required to complete this project. Just a scissors. And, not the squiggly ones either. Plain Jane scissors. I’m quite proud of myself. Simplicity at it’s finest. LOL.

The only summer project I’ve assigned to myself was tending to my little backyard/patio garden deal. I still don’t quite know what to call it but I figure that that’s small potatoes. We moved into a little townhome community a few months ago – it’s quiet and cute. I love it. It was still cold. We didn’t go outside to our patio. Ever. We probably stepped outside less than a total of 5 times.

And, because we tend to get some pretty good sunlight from the windows, we’d open our blinds and let the sun flow through. It was great, we loved it.

But, I started to notice that there was a little forest growing outside… through the bricks that made our patio.

Because,well…. plants tend to grow. And, so do weeds.
It was almost like the children’s book “Where the Wild Things Are”….. The plants and weeds were getting a bit outta hand.

And, I made it a priority to clean it up!
For a few reasons.
1. It was just ugly
2. It’s summer time and we’d defintely begin to have friends over and I wasn’t allowing anyone on our jungle patio.
3. Our neices would be invading in a bit over a month and they’d need somewhere to play that didn’t require a machete, boots, and a little string attached to the door knob that wrapped around their waists to show them the way home.
Most importantly…
4. My garden, my home, my car, my any and everything has been given to me by God to use for His glory. None of it is mine. It’s borrowed STUFF. This LAND, He’s given to me is also a borrowed something that He’s commanded me to take care of.
So…. hello, conviction. This is what really had my kick myself into high gear and get to it.

The recognition of purpose will have you moving a little bit faster and doing things a bit differently.

Hubs and I went to Home Depot to figure a few things out. We didn’t know exactly what we wanted to plant but thought it was most important to get the first steps out of the way – cut down the forest and get some sort of weed killer.
DONE.

So, today, my mom, sister, and stepdad came over so that we could tend to our garden/forest.

This was our backyard/patio situation prior to the “tending” today.
{{And, yes… I’m only slightly ashamed but more on that in a minute…}}
beforebefore 3 before2
But, then we bind ourselves to our God and we begin see progress.

All of that junk is being uprooted.
He uses tools. People. Pain. Uncomfortable situations. and, effort to pull all of the things that keep us from Him, the things that cause of shame, the things that keep us searching the world for what He can only give us.

weeds

We begin to believe the promises we read about. The ones telling us to trust in our Father. That He will never leave us nor forsake us. That all things work together for good for those who love the Lord. That the struggles we go through produce character, peseverance, patience, and endurace.

Our faith is increased. Our hope in the Lord increases. Our desire for Him begins to grow.

We trust that God can make something beautiful of it all in His own time. (Ecclesiastes 3:11) And, we find joy and hope in that because we know that God’s timing is always perfect.

I’m not compeltely ashamed of my forest of a patio because I know that things happen… No one is perfect. That priorities shift when God is ready for them to.
during

I wasn’t into gardening or tending to the Earth before. I didn’t want to pull, plant, or produce anything. People who gardened and were able to keep things alive blew my mind. The fact that someone was able to plant something that successfully grew amazed me.

But, that wasn’t for me.
like adoption, feeding the homeless, forgiving inspite of, giving, serving, listening to a certain kind of music, reading certain kinds of books, or wanting to submit no matter what.
after2A

It’s funny how when we submit ourselves to God’s plans and desires for us, the many things that we felt weren’t for us are the very things we find the most peace, joy, and purpose in.

My little patio/garden isn’t perfect. But, it’s a lot better than it used to be.
No more weeds. Dead, lifeless flowers and plants are gone. Nothing blocking or distracting from the good that is.
after2Even though the patio isn’t lush and full of beautiful plants and flowers just yet…. It’s much more beautiful in its “cleanliness”and “plainness” that it was before.
{{{…. do you hear a little something about modesty…. or, is it just me???}}}
after3

We have to remember, that sometimes, the lack of ____ in our life is much better than a life full of _____.

… here’s to God’s amazing grace. redemption. forgiveness. grace. love. mercy. endurance. patience. submission. willingness.

name

About Alaina

Wife. Daughter. Sister. Aunt. Friend. feel free to walk beside me. support. encourage. comment. pray. bestow wisdom. advise. follow. subscribe.
This entry was posted in about me, adoption, faith, gardening, hope, scripture, summer, what I love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

