… surprise! surprise!

straight hair 1

The 28th of April marked 6 months since I cut all of my relaxed hair off and began wearing my hair in it’s natural state.

The BIG CHOP is HUGE…. I was a bit devastated and uneasy initially at having such short hair because I’ve always had lots of HAIR…. so to have so little was a bit of a shock. You can read more about my chop here

I only straightened it to get a trim but I also got the bonus of seeing how much my hair has grown!!! I’m loving it!

We went from this a few weeks before the chop…
before2

To this in November….
ari dinner

To here, last sunday…
still

And, as of yesterday, we are here..
straight 2

We… yes, my hair and I are one. We have grown so much over the past six months and I have enjoyed every bit of it.

There’s a freedom and beauty in being who you were created to be…. no chemicals or anything like that to alter your appearance.

Our hair is our glory…. and, I found that I was very prideful and that a portion of my self confidence was tied to my hair. How long it was. How it looked. In contrast to being all of my confidence being completely rooted in who I was.

Now, I still love my hair. I’m obsessed with my curls. I’m not yet over how CURLY it is…. how it coils…. how it looks liks little springs all over my head. I love it! lol.

There’s a beauty in natural hair that is difficult to explain unless you’ve experienced the “chop”. Or, if you’ve grown it out but I truly see it with the chop.

Your face, your beauty is visible. There’s a brightness in your face that is hidden by hair. There’s nothing to hide behind.

I’ve never been so confident post my chop than I’ve ever been in my entire life. I’ve learned so much about who I am, I’ve stepped out in so many other areas because of the confidence and the mindset change that has occured. I had to completely change my mind about what was beautiful, acceptable, and do-able in regards to style, fashion, and more.

It’s been a pretty cool journey and I’m more than glad that I chose to cut alll of my hair off. lol. I do miss it. I do miss being able to push my sunglasses up on my head or run my fingers through my hair. I miss it falling onto my shoulders.

I could have this, but I prefer to wear my hair curly rather than straighten it. Plus, the HUMIDITY here in Houston is not going to allow us to make it. 🙂

… here’s to loving who you are and embracing your uniquely designed beauty!!!!

name

About Alaina

Wife. Daughter. Sister. Aunt. Friend. feel free to walk beside me. support. encourage. comment. pray. bestow wisdom. advise. follow. subscribe.
This entry was posted in about me, growth, hair and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

