… it’s coming

30crop

I literally blinked and I’m turning 30.

THIRTY
.

I can’t even BEGIN to understand how I’m about to enter a whole new decade of my life. I didn’t think I’d “freak out” (I actually like getting older) but 30 {THIRTY} is HUGE!! I knew it was coming but it’s actually happening in a few days.
And, I cannot believe it’s here already.

I don’t actually turn until the 12th but I doubt I’ll have the time blog about my “shift” into what feels like legitimate adulthood on that particular day.

The shift into legitimate adulthood……… Maybe the fact that I’m “small” and look quite young is the cause of the slight annoyance when asked my age by older people but….. when I can answer the question of “How old are you?” with a bold, confident “Thirty.”I feel like it carries a lot more weight than professing that your age still begins with a two. It makes a difference – I think. I don’t think I’ll be given that almost snooty you’re-just-a-baby snub of an attitude that is so often thrown my way. I’m kinda proud of that. (This is given I am acting my age… right?! lol)

My birthday this year just feels different. It feels like my life… our lives… are changing so drastically and so incredibly quickly. When it’s just the two of you… nothing really matters. You can come and go as you want… buy what you want… do what you want and it really doesn’t affect much at all. Time almost isn’t a big deal. We have thoroughly been enjoying the freedom of D.I.N.K (Dual Income, No Kids) style living for almost three years (on the 17th!!!!). We’ve had a great time together, we’ve learned so much about life, each other, and our roles in each other’s lives.

And, I’m grateful that it panned out this way. We enjoyed about half of our twenties together and it’s as if we’re moving into a new chapter of our lives in a major way! The best part is that we’re ready. I wouldn’t have had it any other way. God’s plan is perfect.

So, I find it enjoyable and ironic that in the year I feel as if I become a legit adult, is the year we will inherit so much more responsibility. And, we already feel it and are really taking efforts to ensure that we’re very thoughtful about how we want the rest of our lives to “look” in all of it’s different aspects.

I’ve learned an incredible amount in the past ten years… especially in the past five or so and I’m so grateful for everything that I have experienced, endured, and enjoyed! Life lessons definitely cause you to grow.

I’m looking forward to posting a few things I’ve learned in all of my 30 years and a few things that I have sparked my interest and challenged me to try from a few new found blogger friends (who are also apart of, what I will call, the Adoptive Parent Coalition! lol).

This year will be great. I’m so incredibly excited, mainly humbled, and definitely determined.
If one thing I have learned for certain, it is that There is a God.

Over the past five years, I have grown an incredible amount in my walk with Christ. I believe that it was in my 28th & 29th years that I really feel as if I’d taken leaps and bounds in growth and knowledge of who God is and made a real effort to trust Him for any and all changes that needed (and, still need) to be made.

These years have been an experience but they have absolutely been apart of the molding process and have prepped me to be and do everything that this year has for me. This is the year I will live out loud for Him. I’ve never done that before. I’ve never done the things I’ve been challenged to do before. But, this year. I will.

I’m turning 30, y’all. 🙂

Shine & pursue.

… here’s to aging gracefully. living graciously. and, loving intentionally. (more on all of that later!)

name

About Alaina

Wife. Daughter. Sister. Aunt. Friend. feel free to walk beside me. support. encourage. comment. pray. bestow wisdom. advise. follow. subscribe.
This entry was posted in about me, aha!, birthdays, faith, growth, marriage, music, the plan, what I love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

