… chopped it off

So today, I chopped off all of my hair. Well, at least all by about 3 inches of it.

YES!
As of October 29, 2011 I am 100% completely natural!

I’ve had a relaxer for as long as I can remember but decided to have my last relaxer in January.
From January to May, my beautician roller set or flat-ironed my hair … which was perfect. And, worked really well.

….. but, in May I started getting extensions sewn into my hair to help with transitioning and to help my hair grow a bit faster. I loved it! It was convenient and gave me an extra bit of pizzazz! I loved it!!

I wore extensions from May until earlier this month when I decided to give my hair a break. I wore my hair in a curly little ‘fro type style using red curling rods.

(this last pic is from Saturday, the last real picture of my relaxed hair.)
I loved this style – it was pretty easy but if I slept on it wrong or didn’t roll the bottom or sides at night, I’d end up with flatened curls with wasn’t a cute look at all. It was great for working out (when I had time) because it didn’t matter how my hair poof’d due to sweat because the bigger the hair the cuter it looked! 🙂

Until today.
I have been going back and forth trying to decide when I should go through with the BC (big chop) – should I just do it now? Should I wait until it grows out a little longer? Should I wait for my 30th birthday in January?? How would growing it out another month work – how managable would it be? Would it tangle more? And, on and on and on.
So many questions…. so much indecisiveness… I just wanted to do it. Before I chickened out.

So today, on a whim…… I chopped off all of my hair.
Here is my video saying goodbye to my relaxed hair. My curls. My length.
*****  Click the link to actually watch the video!! ****

The results??
a big ol’ pile of curly hair…
… a very curly little ‘fro (Thomas is going to edge me up a little bit… who knew that was back there and would be an issue?! lol)
… and, a two strand twists in the making!
…. here you may be able to tell how much my hair shrinks. The puff of curls is quite short but my twist is much longer!!

Yes, those curls are my world. And, I’m in love with them. Although, I’m not one hundred percent sold on how the curly fro looks on me quite yet – I love my curls. I love the fact that I actually have curls. Nice curls.

I doubt I’ll be straightening my hair much as I don’t want to ruin my curl pattern and I’m not sure about styles although because of the season change (cooler weather means dryer hair) – I’ll have to have some sort of protective styling. We’ll see.

I am excited. I’m a bit nervous about wearing my TWA (teenie weenie afro) out of the house and learning to manipulate and style it myself……. Which is one reason I’m glad I chopped now – I’ll have the opportunity to learn how to style my hair while it’s still short.

Tomorrow, I’ll post pictures of my twist out!!!  I’m praying it turns out nicely!!

…. here’s to God created hair and loving my hair in its natural state!
…. and, to a working out worry free!

About Alaina

Wife. Daughter. Sister. Aunt. Friend. feel free to walk beside me. support. encourage. comment. pray. bestow wisdom. advise. follow. subscribe.
This entry was posted in about me, coming out, fitness, hair and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to … chopped it off

  1. Shanika says:

    I hope you like your twist out. Being able to rock your natural curls rock!

  2. Lauren Williams says:

    Congratulations! I can’t believe you just did it, that takes real courage! You have some beautiful natural curls, you can see them even better now! I’m sure you will be able to rock the curly ‘fro better than you’d ever imagine! Now you can try products like Kinky Curly, Uncle Funkys Daughter, Mixed Chicks, Ms. Jessie’s, etc.!

    • Alaina says:

      I know! I know! It was absolutely impulse! Lol. But, I’m definitely enjoying my curls!! And, YES! They are very defined. Right now, I’m using Curls Unleashed so I’ll try it for a couple of washes to see how I like it! I think Kinky Curly will be my next trial if this doesn’t work out like I want it to!

  3. puddin85 says:

    I had less then 1/2inch when I big chopped! I love my hair…still learning to rock it with confidence! 4months natural now. Enjoy !

    • Alaina says:

      Wow!!!!!!!!!! 1/2 in! Now that’s brave! My last relaxer was in January- I’m at about 3 in! Lol. I don’t think I could’ve done it! But, I dooooooo love my hair! It’s so pretty!! Lol. I can totally get “learning to rock it with confidence”!! It’s a process. I literally pray that learn to accept and love (and work with) my hair the way God created it – it’s different and definitely a look of beauty we weren’t raised with! I excited about the journey!

  4. Pingback: … written on the heart | unashamedgrowth

  5. Pingback: … surprise! surprise! | unashamedgrowth

Leave a Reply

