… a little cup of heaven

I feel an apology is necessary: for those of you who follow me on Twitter (A_MAYESing3 and AlainaUnashamed) and on Instagram (amayes) you pretty much see all of the iPhone pictures before they get to the blog…… so, I hope I’m not boring you! When the girls get here, there will be SLR shots so those will definitely be debuted on blog FIRST!

So, today……. the first Monday of summer break! It’s finally here!!!
And, what did we do? A (very) small amount of shopping – I’m talking one store/one item (do I hear applause?!), a stop at the ice cream shop, and a movie!! So fun, so relaxing, so enjoyable! Thomas hates shopping so I was so quick!! lol.

We went to Ben & Jerry’s and had an ice cream outside on the patio and I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED it so much! I love sorbet so I had a lemonade and mango flavor that went together really, really well! It was so perfect! I can’t wait til the girls get here so we can get ice cream with them! There’s something about ice cream shops that scream “It’s SUMMER TIME!!!” and puts you in a carefree place…. I hope we don’t end up going everyday! It’s truly heaven in a cup!

For all of you movie goers…… we went to see MIB3. Thomas is the only one who actually saw it because I went to sleep about 5 minutes in. It bored me to snores. Literally, I slept through the entire movie. So, unfortunately, I can’t tell you whether or not it was good. I’m sorry. Thomas seemed to think it was funny so maybe it’s worth it for you MIB fans.

(blankstare)

You guys know I love to read and I love to buy real books (versus iBooks)….. Went to B&N and picked up a few books, including the popular Shades of Grey. I’ve heard such great things about it… Hope it’s as awesome as everyone says. We’ll see. First piece of literature over the summer. My reading list is growing though. I have another book I’ll probably end up ordering called “When People Are Big and God is Small”. Can’t wait to get that jewel in the mail. Should be amazing.

Hopefully, your summer has started with a blast and you’re enjoying every minute of it! Hopefully, you’re getting more time with your family, enjoying the longer days, and easy nights! I absolutely love it…. there’s something about it that makes you want to press pause for a little bit and enjoy what’s going on around you, to give yourself a minute to take it all in. Whatever “it” may be. Do it.

…. here’s to pressing pause, relaxing for a minute, and enjoying the moment.

 

 

About Alaina

Wife. Daughter. Sister. Aunt. Friend. feel free to walk beside me. support. encourage. comment. pray. bestow wisdom. advise. follow. subscribe.
This entry was posted in about me, books, summer, what I love and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

